(placeholder)
(placeholder)
(placeholder)
(placeholder)

¡Adelante Latino!

Saturday, April 30, 2022  10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Every year, volunteers from the Sweetwater Union High School District (SUHSD) and The University of California, San Diego (UCSD) Early Academic Outreach Program (EAOP) coordinate a yearly outreach event to teach young Latinos the importance of seeking higher education. We are bringing this event to an online platform for 2022.

***STUDENTS AND GUESTS: REGISTER HERE***

https://hopin.com/events/adelante-latino-conference-2022

Free Virtual Event!

25TH ANNUAL ADELANTE LATINO CONFERENCE AT UCSD

“KNOWLEDGE IS POWER”

The Adelante Latino Conference gives students an opportunity to meet and interact with successful Latino professionals who work in a variety of fields. Students will gain a better understanding and appreciation of what it takes to achieve their own educational and career goals and empower students as they plan for their future

CONFERENCE AGENDA

10:00am – 10:15am Opening Session

Sweetwater Union High School District (SUHSD) Welcome:

Dr. Moises Aguirre, Superintendent of the Sweetwater Union High School District

UC San Diego Welcome:

Frank Silva, Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice Chancellor Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Keynote:

Dr. Alberto "Beto" Vasquez

Titles: Community Outreach and Engagement Coordinator, CREATE STEM Success Initiative, UC San Diego; Associate Director STEM & Community Relations, Early Academic Outreach Program, UC San Diego

Bio: Beto was able to find his path via a community college education at San Diego City College before transferring to UC San Diego where he acquired a BS and MS in biology. His research background is in educational leadership. 


Although he had many challenges growing up (school dropout, homelessness, incarceration and addiction); he is committed to being a role model; to his four kids, his community and as a professional in higher education. He is an educational advocate for marginalized groups and a great proponent of diversity in Science, technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) fields.


Beto has worked in local government, education and the non-profit sectors and was last employed with the San Diego Community College District.


In addition to his current role with EAOP, where he leads STEM efforts and institutional relations, he is also employed with the Center for Research on Educational Equity, Assessment and Teaching Excellence (CREATE), as a Community Outreach & Engagement Coordinator, and with the San Diego Nanotechnology Infrastructure (SDNI) as the Associate Director of Educational Equity.


Beto spearheads intra- and inter-institutional efforts to increase STEM diversity, access and engagement to disenfranchised communities throughout Southern California by developing P-20 programs, curriculum, initiatives and collaborations. He is very active in the community and has assisted with designing programs and events (supporting education, social justice, justice reform, formerly incarcerated populations and underrepresented groups in STEM).



     10:25am – 10:55am Break out sessions 1 – Career Explorations (SESSION TITLES MAY CHANGE)

          Building tomorrow through Engineering: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

          Inspiration and Motivation in a Law: Learn about a career as a lawyer

          Education: Inspiring future leaders through a career in education

          Making a difference for everyone through a Medical Career

          Entrepreneurs – Own your own business

          11:10am – 11:40am Break out session 2 – Career Explorations

          Building tomorrow through Engineering: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

          Inspiration and Motivation in a Law: Learn about a career as a lawyer

          Education: Inspiring future leaders through a career in education

          Making a difference for everyone through a Medical Career

          Entrepreneurs – Own your own business

          11:55am – 12:25am Break out session 3 – College, Making it Happen: UCSD talks to students                about making the college dream come true (topics subject to change)

          How to Pay for College 101

          Campus Life and Identities: Find out about fraternities, sororities, service or interest club at UCSD

          Preparing for College  

MIDDLE SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES


Bonita Vista Middle 

Roberto Bonilla

roberto.bonilla@sweetwaterschools.org


Castle Park Middle      

Joel Miller     

joel.miller@sweetwaterschools.org


Chula Vista Middle      

Guillermo Flores     

Guillermo.Flores@sweetwaterschools.org


Eastlake Middle      

Luis R. Lopez     

luis.lopez2@sweetwaterschools.org


Granger Junior High      

Sabino P. Muro

sabino.muro@sweetwaterschools.org

Hector Pineda     

hector.pineda@sweetwaterschools.org


Hilltop Middle     

Juan Murillo     

juan.murillo2@sweetwaterschools.org


Mar Vista Academy     

Ulisses Hernandez     

ulisses.hernandez@sweetwaterschools.org


Montgomery  Middle     

Jeff Rapp     

jeff.rapp@sweetwaterschools.org


National City Middle     

Ralph Patricio     

ralph.patricio@sweetwaterschools.org


Rancho Del Rey Middle      

Luis Aparicio

Luis.Aparicio@sweetwaterschools.org


     

Southwest Middle     

Alain Garnica-Mendoza     

alain.garnica-mendoza@sweetwaterschools.org


HIGH SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES


Bonita Vista High      

Carlos Siragusa      

carlos.siragusa@sweetwaterschools.org


Castle Park High      

Joel Miller     

joel.miller@sweetwaterschools.org


Chula Vista High      

Juan Neria     

juan.neriajr@sweetwaterschools.org


Eastlake High      

Osvaldo Bañuelos     

osvaldo.banuelos@sweetwaterschools.org


Hilltop High      

Mark Carpizo     

mark.carpizo@sweetwaterschools.org


Launch Academy

David Lopez     

David.Lopez@sweetwaterschools.org


Mar Vista High 

Ruben Baeza

ruben.baeza@sweetwaterschools.org


Montgomery High      

Jose Luis Vargas     

jose.vargasjr@sweetwaterschools.org


Olympian High     

Mike Govea     

michael.govea@sweetwaterschools.org


Otay Ranch High      

Alvaro Chavez

Alvaro.Chavez@sweetwaterschools.org

Juan Contreras

Juan.Contreras@sweetwaterschools.org


Palomar High      

Frenando Chaidez     

fernando.chaidez@sweetwaterschools.org


Parkview Elementary     Michael Ramirez     

Michael.Ramirez@cvesd.org


San Ysidro High      

Manuel Carbajal     

Manuel.Carbajal@sweetwaterschools.org


San Ysidro High     

Javier Angulo     

Javier.Angulo@sweetwaterschools.org


Southwest High      

Sergio Quintero     

sergio.quintero@sweetwaterschools.org


Sweetwater High      

Alex Salazar     

alexander.salazar-arbelaez@sweetwaterhighschool.org


SUHSD ROP     

Cesar Gamez     

cesar.gamez@sweetwaterschools.org


CONFERENCE CHAIR

Michael Govea

michael.govea@sweetwaterschools.org


CONFERENCE CO-CHAIR

Osvaldo Bañuelos

osvaldo.banuelos@sweetwaterschools.org